Yasoob Ul Haq


After a few close matches, it seemed like the India vs. Sri Lanka, 2023 Asia Cup was going to have an exciting ending. The final match which was full of making records held on September 17, 2023, at R. Premadasa Stadium, Colombo. However, the final match was disappointing because Mohammed Siraj single-handedly defeated Sri Lanka very quickly.  India won their seventh 50-over Asia Cup title, in addition to one in the T20 format in 2016.


PlayingVS. XI of the final match is as follows;

Playing XI

Team IndiaTeam Sri Lanka
Rohit Sharma (C)Dasun Shanaka (C)
Shubman GillPathum Nissanka
Virat KohliKusal Perera
KL Rahul (wk)Kusal Mendis (wk)
Ishan KishanSadeera Samarawickrama
Hardik PandyaCharith Asalanka
Ravindra JadejaDhananjaya de Silva
Washington SundarDunith Wellalage
Kuldeep YadavSahan Arachchige
Jasprit BumrahPramod Madushan
Mohammed SirajMatheesha Pathirana

Under the cloudy shade, Siraj used a new ball that moved a lot and took 6 wickets for only 21 runs. This is the fourth-best performance by an Indian player in One Day Internationals. He grabbed 16 balls to get his first five wickets, which is tied record with Sri Lanka’s Chaminda Vaas and USA’s Ali Khan for the fastest five-for in one-day international matches.


Sri Lanka got all out for just 50 runs, which is their second-lowest score in One Day International matches. Only two players scored more than 10 runs. The total number of overs played was only 15. 2, which is one of the shortest in all One Day International matches.

In response, Shubman Gill and Ishan Kishan, who started batting instead of Rohit Sharma, only needed 6. 1 over to achieve the required score. The two Indian openers hit nine fours together, while the entire Sri Lankan team only managed to hit five fours.

After losing the coin toss, Rohit Sharma said that he also wanted to bat first on a dry pitch. But ten minutes before the scheduled start, it started raining.

When the game finally started 40 minutes late, Jasprit Bumrah made the ball move in both directions. With his third attempt, he successfully caught Kusal Perera behind. Sri Lanka got a very big surprise from the other team’s conclusion.

Siraj started by hitting the side of Kusal Mendis’s bat four times in a row. In the next game, he took four wickets. Pathum Nissanka was the first to leave the game, hitting a long shot upward in the opposite direction. Ravindra Jadeja then jumped to his right and caught the ball with both hands.


After two balls, Siraj caught Sadeera Samarawickrama out leg before wicket. Right after that, he made Charith Asalanka hit the ball to the fielder at cover. Dhananjaya de Silva did not get out on the third ball in a row. He hit through the area between mid-on and made four runs. Siraj was excited and ran after it to the boundary, getting past the Indian defenders, especially Virat Kohli, with a smile on his face.

Dhananjaya didn’t last much longer; Siraj caught him behind after the next ball. This made Siraj the fourth bowler to take four wickets in one over in ODIs, joining Vaas, Mohammad Sami, and Adil Rashid.

At 12 runs for 6 wickets, Sri Lanka was at risk of getting the lowest ODI score. Mendis and Dunith Wellalage helped them avoid embarrassment by scoring 21 runs for the seventh wicket. But Siraj still had more to do. In the 12th over, he made the ball move back and hit Mendis’ stump in the middle.

Soon after, Hardik Pandya quickly finished the innings by taking three wickets. Gill and Kishan had no trouble in meeting the small goal. Gill scored his first point by hitting Pramod Madushan for four on the last ball of the first round.

Afterward, Kishan hit four runs in a row off Pathirana, and Gill did even better by hitting three runs in three balls in the next over.

In the seventh over, Kishan secured a win by hitting the ball far and getting a single.



Sri Lanka Batting

Pathum Nissanka 240050.00
Kusal Perera 02000.00
Kusal Mendis 17343050.00
Sadeera Samarawickrama 02000.00
Charith Asalanka 01000.00
Dhananjaya de Silva 4210200.00
Dasun Shanaka (c)04000.00
Dunith Wellalage 8210038.09
Dushan Hemantha 13151086.66
Pramod Madushan 160016.66
Matheesha Pathirana 01000.00
TOTAL5015.2 Ov (RR: 3.26)

India Bowling

Jasprit Bumrah512314.6010
Mohammed Siraj712163.0020
Hardik Pandya2.20331.2800
Kuldeep Yadav10101.0000

India Batting

Ishan Kishan 231830127.77
Shubman Gill 271960142.10
TOTAL51/06.1 Ov (RR: 8.27)

Sri Lanka Bowling

Pramod Madushan2021010.5000
Matheesha Pathirana2021010.5000
Dunith Wellalage20703.5000
Charith Asalanka0.10106.0000

I'm Yasoob-Ul-Haq a UK Safety Certified Chemical Engineer and a highly skilled Content Writer having two years of writing experience on different types of interesting and competent niches. I prefer target oriented work to meet timelines.

Leave a Comment