Sri Lanka VS Afghanistan, Asia Cup 2023, Match Performance, Scores Update

Yasoob Ul Haq


Afghanistan impressed people and gained support. On the other hand, Sri Lanka won the exciting Sri Lanka vs. Afghanistan match held in Gaddafi Stadium, Lahore. As per the scoreboard, Sri Lanka won by just two runs, a close margin it was. This victory proved to be 12th in the ODI series.

At first, let’s explore the playing XI of both teams;

Playing Xi

Team Sri LankaTeam Afghanistan
Dasun Shanaka (c)Hashmatullah Shahidi(c)
Pathum NissanakaRahmanullah Gurbaz(w)
Dimuth KarunaratneIbrahim Zadran
Dunith WellalageRahmat Shah
Kasun RajithaNajibullah Zadran
Kusal Mendis (vc)Mohammad Nabi
Charith AsalankaGulbadin Naib
Dhananjaya de SilvaKarim Janat
Sadeera SamarawickramaRashid Khan
Maheesh TheekshanaMujeeb Ur Rahman
Matheesha PathiranaFazalhaq Farooqi

However, this can’t fully explain the nature of the game. To improve, Afghanistan realized to enhance its run rate (NRR) after losing badly to Bangladesh. They had to chase the target in just 37 overs.

Additionally, some more excitement to the situation was if Afghanistan would have succeeded. This would have caused a basic decrease in NRR of Sri Lanka even below both Bangladesh and Afghanistan. It could eliminate the winning champions.

Consequently, with the continuous efforts of Kusal Mendis, Sri Lanka scored 291 runs. Dunith Wellalage and Mahesh Theekshana also played a vital role in scoring such scoring huge runs. The target had to be achieved within 37 overs by Afghanistan to get a chance to win. During the match, Sri Lanka had the proper control over the game and was continuously moving towards victory.

Surprisingly, Mohammad Nabi played an impressive game to score 65 runs in just 32 balls. The disappointed Afghani had a sigh of faith to win, by his performance.

Nabis Performance

Nabi came to bat when his team needed 171 runs in 110 balls. However, as the time passed he got out. But the required runs had dropped down to 91 from 64 balls. Particularly, in the middle of game he attacked team Sri Lanka. Nabi hit six boundaries and five sixes.

All of this ended when it seemed like Rashid will be out. But he tried to hit three boundaries in the last four balls of 37th over. Mujeeb had to score 3 runs just from a single ball. Afghanistan had a small chance to qualify if they scored 295 runs in 37.5 overs. Only a single six was enough to achieve it. Unfortunately, after playing two defensive shots and trying the third one Rashid got caught. He looked really disappointed as Sri Lanka achieved a surprising victory.

Rashid Disappointed

Kasun Rajitha was the one who took the wickets of top-order batters Rahmanullah and Ibrahim early and finished the game with 4 for 79.

Team Sri Lanka on their turn to bat struggled hard to secure a clear victory. Pathum Nissanka and Dimuth Karunaratne made 63 runs together in the start. However, Naib changed the game and made a good move. When Sri Lanka reached a score of 86 for 3, he was even able to take two more.

In the meantime, Mendis and Asalanka added 102 runs Rashid entered to bowl and end their partnership. Dasun made a mistake on the opposite site to hit the stumps and Rashid got a chance to make Mendis leave the playfield. He could also make Shanaka leave the pitch which put Sri Lanka in trouble for not completing 50 overs.

Sri Lanka Partership

Fortunately, Wellalage played in a way to make Sri Lanka win the game. Wellalage and Theeksana added 64 runs quickly after the team had 227 in 40 overs. Their progress helped to achieve total winning score.


Sri Lanka Batting

Pathum Nissanka41405560102.50
Dimuth Karunarante3235376091.42
Kushal Mendis928412063109.52
Sadeera Samarwickrama3890037.50
Charith Asalanka3643662183.72
Dhananjaya de Silva1419181073.68
Dasun Shanaka5861073.68
Dunith Wellalage3339473184.64
Maheesh Theekshana28244421116.66

Afghanistan Bowling

Fazalhaq Farooqi715207.42216200
Mujeeb Ur Rehman 1006016.00296120
Gulbadin Naib1006046.00306120
Mohammad Nabi1003503.50281000
Rashid Khan1006326.30267110
Karim Janat302006.6681110

Afghanistan Batting

Rehmanullah Gurbaz48111050.00
Ibrahim Zadran714271050.00
Gulbadin Naib22163040137.50
Rehmat Shah45406451112.50
Hashmatullah Shahidi59661203189.39
Mohammad Nabi65324065203.12
Karim Janat22132312169.23
Najibullah Zadran23152412153.33
Rashid Khan27163441168.75
Mujeeb Ur Rehman038000.00
Fazalhaq Farooqi031000.00

Sri Lanka Bowling

Kasun Rajitha1007947.90329420
Maheesh Theekshana1006216.20276120
Dunith Wellalage403529.0095100
Matheesha Pathirana1006316.30334340
Dasun Shanaka2032016.0002210
Dhananjaya de Silva1.401227.2050100

I'm Yasoob-Ul-Haq a UK Safety Certified Chemical Engineer and a highly skilled Content Writer having two years of writing experience on different types of interesting and competent niches. I prefer target oriented work to meet timelines.

Leave a Comment