Who Won? Afghanistan Vs South Africa | 42nd Match of World Cup 2023 – 10 Nov Match Performance, Scores Updates

Uswa Toheed

Who Won Afghanistan Vs South Africa 42nd Match of World Cup 2023 – 10 Nov Match Performance, Scores Updates

The Afghanistan vs South Africa match was held at Narendra Modi Stadium, Ahmedabad, India on November 10, 2023. In the 42nd match of the ICC World Cup 2023, South Africa won by five wickets. The Afghanistan team won the toss and chose to bat first. The decision was good but they did not manage this properly. Further, with this loss, the hope of qualification for the semi-final had gone. They offered 244 runs to South Africa for a win. They completed this score with 15 balls to spare. Moreover, South Africa has already qualified for the semi-final. Rassie van der Dussen became the Player of the Match after playing an inning of unbeaten 76 runs off 95 balls.

Playing XI

AfghanistanSouth Africa
Rahmanullah GurbazQuinton de Kock
Ibrahim ZadranTemba Bavuma (C)
Rahmat ShahRassie van der Dussen
Hashmatullah Shahidi (C)Aiden Markram
Azmatullah OmarzaiHeinrich Klaasen
Ikram AlikhilDavid Miller
Mohammad NabiAndile Phehlukwayo
Rashid KhanGerald Coetzee
Noor AhmadKeshav Maharaj
Mujeeb Ur RahmanKagiso Rabada
Naveen-ul-HaqLungi Ngidi

Afghanistan opted to bat first because they knew the fact that they needed a 438-run victory over South Africa. In the same way, they moved to the fourth number after the win and reached the semi-final. But after the two early wickets, it seemed difficult. Before the powerplay ended, Maharaj and Coetzee’s wonderful bowling sent back Rahmanullah and Ibrahim. Then, the 3rd wicket of Hshmatullah fell at just 2 runs and he played 7 balls only. These three consecutive three wickets put pressure on the Afghan team.

Highlights Afghanistan Vs South Africa  42nd Match

In the maiden overs, they completed 116 runs at the loss of five wickets. No player except Azmatullah reached the figure of 30. Well done bowling from the South African side. Coetzee took 4 wickets by giving 44 runs in 10 overs. Both Ngidi and Maharaj fell 2 wickets each. Azmatullah had a great stand-up of 97 runs and reached the target of 244 runs. With this target, the hope to approach the semi-final had broken. But at least they can grab the fifth win in this tournament.

The Afghanistan team fought properly but the South African team named this win. At the start of the 2nd inning, it looked like they easily chased the target. But Afghanistan bowlers gave their best effort. Quinton de Kock and Temba Bavuma gave a stand of 10.5 overs and made a partnership of 64 runs. After that, Temba’s wicket fell on the last ball of the 7th over.

Afghanistan Bowling against South Africa

Quinton de Kock scored 41 runs off 47 balls with included 3 sixes and 2 boundaries included. Rassie van der Dussen’s wonderful innings of 76 runs gave them the victory. He scored these unbeaten runs in 95 deliveries. Andile Phehlukwayo made his first appearance in this World Cup brilliantly. He joined Rassie van der at the crease. It seemed that Afghanistan bowlers would be able to pick up another lower-order wicket. But he picked up the win with his batting, supporting Rassie van der brilliantly.

Mohammad Nabi showed his experience and bowling with confidence, got two wickets by giving 35 runs. Moreover, Rashid Khan also bowled excellently and fell two wickets. But they failed to take the wicket of Rassie van der and in such a way, the South African team used this advantage and snatched the game from them.

South Africa won the 42nd match ICC World Cup 2023

Afghanistan players fought till the end of the game but luck was not on their side. In addition, Afghanistan finished this tournament with four wins which is the best-ever performance in the World Cup. Moreover, with this, they have also fixed their presence in the Champions Trophy 2025.

Scorecard of Both Teams

Afghanistan Batting

Rahmanullah Gurbaz25224531113.63
Ibrahim Zadran1530523050.00
Rahmat Shah2646582056.52
Hashmatullah Shahidi (C)2750028.57
Azmatullah Omarzai971071737390.65
Ikram Alikhil1214161185.71
Mohammad Nabi2370066.66
Rashid Khan1430420046.66
Noor Ahmad2632364081.25
Mujjeb Ur Rahman85701160.00
Total24450 Ov

South Africa Bowling

Kagiso Rabada1004004.0000
Lungi Ngidi8.306928.1160
Aiden Markram4.302505.5500
Gerald Coetzee1014444.4020
Keshav Maharaj1012522.5020
Andile Phehlukwayo703615.1400

South Africa Batting

Quinton de Kock4147582387.23
Temba Bavuma (C)2328493082.14
Rassie van der Dussen76951416180.00
Aiden Markram2532321178.12
Heinrich Klaasen1013151076.92
David Miller2433351172.72
Andile Phehlukwayo39374613105.40

Afghanistan Bowling

Mujeeb Ur Rahman1005115.1010
Mohammad Nabi1013523.5000
Azmatullah Omarzai10808.0000
Rashid Khan1013723.7010
Noor Ahmad904905.4430
Rahmat Shah1012012.0000

Uswa, a cricket admirer, provides keen and perceptive information. In the same way, she writes after proper and deep research and gives clear details.

Leave a Comment