Who Won? Australia Vs Pakistan | 18th Match of World Cup 2023 – 20 Oct Match Performance, Scores Updates

Uswa Toheed

Who Won Australia Vs Pakistan 18th Match of World Cup 2023 – 20 Oct Match Performance, Scores Updates

The 18th match from 48 of the ICC World Cup 2023 was played between Australia and Pakistan. The match was arranged at M. Chinnaswamy Stadium, Bengaluru, India on October 20, 2023.

After winning the toss, the Pakistan team gave the batting first to Australia. After playing first the Australia team scored 367 runs. But the Pakistan team could not chase the score and faced defeat by 62 runs. Due to David Waner’s wonderful performance, he was named the Player of the Match. In just 123 balls, he scored 163 runs.

Playing XI

David WarnerAbdullah Shafique
Mitchell MarshImam-ul-Haq
Glenn MaxwellBabar Azam (C)
Steven SmithMohammad Rizwan
Marcus StoinisSaud Shakeel
Josh InglisIftikhar Ahmed
Marnus LabuschagneMohammad Nawaz
Pat Cummins (C)Usama Mir
Mitchell StarcShaheen Shah Afridi
Josh HazlewoodHasan Ali
Adam ZampaHaris Rauf

The opening pair David Warner and Mitchell Marsh failed badly in their previous matches of the tournament. They showed their brilliant performance in the match against Pakistan. Moreover, they smashed the Pakistani bowlers all over the ground. Further, they created a record partnership of 259 runs. The bad luck of Pakistan is that the player who played the match in the place of Shadab Khan dropped the catch Warner on just 10 runs. It was the biggest mishap for the Pakistani team.

Australia's batting against Pakistan

After that, they both completed their centuries and built pressure on the Pakistani bowlers and other team members. David Warner completed his half-century in 39 deliveries and a century in 89 balls. This is David’s 21st century in ODI. Marsh made a half-century off 40 balls. Both players played long shorts, made boundaries, and hit sixes. They also built a great partnership and hit 9 sixes each.

Shaheen Shah Afridi took the first wicket for his team and broke their partnership. He sent Marsh back to the pavilion. Mitchell Marsh played 108 balls and scored 121 runs. After that, Glenn Maxwell came and in his very first ball out by Shaheen. Moreover, Shaheen excellently took these back-to-back wickets. Usama Mir grabbed the wicket of Smith. He scored just 7 runs.

Pakistani bowlers succeeded in clutching the wickets one after another. David Warner continued to play brilliantly and reached 151 runs. Haris Rauf delivered the ball blazingly and David tried to play a big shot. But went back to the pavilion with an outstanding performance of 163 runs. After that, Inglis was also kicked out to the innings by the ball of Haris. The fast bowler grabbed his 3rd wicket and sent back the Stoinis. 21 runs off 23 balls has been scored by him.

Apart from two players, none of the players could score better runs and they got out one after the other. Due to the aggressive bowling of the Pakistan bowlers, they could limit them to 367 runs only.

Pakistan batting against Australia

Pakistani openers Imam and Abdullah Shafique, who emerged from the field to fulfill this great oath, had a great start. Both players completed the half-centuries. But unluckily, Abdullah Shafique was out by Stoinis. Babar Azam joined the Imam. Imam was out on 70. After dropping two wickets, the Pakistani team came under pressure. Babar again failed to score runs and played 14 balls and out on 18. However, Rizwan and Saud Shakeel made a partnership of 57 runs and the 4th wicket of the team dropped at 232.

Australia's Bowling in 18th match 2023

After falling wickets one by one, it seemed more difficult to achieve the target. Rizwan scored 46 runs and Iftikhar scored 26 runs. Additionally, both wickets were taken by Zampa. The bad day for Pakistan was that other players did not add more runs. Such as they scored just 305 runs in 45.3 overs.

So, Australia won its 2nd match of the World Cup by 62 runs. Due to David Warner’s outstanding 163-run performance, he was announced the Player of the Match.

Scorecard of Both Teams

Australia Batting

David Warner163124180149131.45
Mitchell Marsh121108139109112.03
Glenn Maxwell011000.00
Steven Smith79170077.77
Marcus Stoinis2124461187.50
Josh Inglis1391030144.44
Marnus Labuschagne812231066.66
Pat Cummins68170075.00
Mitchell Starc2330066.66
Josh Hazlewood011000.00
Adam Zampa11400100.00
Total367/950 Ov

Pakistan Bowling

Shaheen Shah Afridi1015455.4030
Hasan Ali805707.1230
Iftikhar Ahmed803704.6220
Haris Rauf8083310.3730
Usama Mir908219.1120
Mohammad Nawaz704306.1400

Pakistan Batting

Abdullah Shafique64619372104.91
Babar Azam (C)18142730128.57
Mohammad Rizwan46408450115.00
Saud Shakeel3031375096.77
Iftikhar Ahmed26202203130.00
Mohammad Nawaz1416190187.50
Usama Mir034000.00
Shaheen Shah Afridi1081720125.00
Hasan Ali88720100.00
Haris Rauf013000.00
Total30545.3 Ov

Australia Bowling

Mitchell Starc806518.1260
Josh Hazlewood1013713.7010
Pat Cummins7.306228.2600
Adam Zampa1005345.3010
Glenn Maxwell504008.0000
Marcus Stoinis504028.0030

Uswa, a cricket admirer, provides keen and perceptive information. In the same way, she writes after proper and deep research and gives clear details.

Leave a Comment