Who Won? India Vs Australia | Final Match of World Cup 2023 – 19 Nov Match Performance, Scores Updates

Uswa Toheed

Who Won India Vs Australia Final Match of World Cup 2023 – 19 Nov Match Performance, Scores Updates

The Finale of the ICC World Cup 2023 between India and Australia took place at Narendra Modi Stadium, Ahmedabad, India on November 19, 2023. India played on their home ground in front of their audience at the largest ground in the World. On the other hand, Australia played against the most powerful team in the World Cup.

But with the same fact, Australia had great confidence in their effort which they showed throughout the tournament. India had a great sport, and they were considered the winner of the World Cup. They were fully sure that they would lift the Trophy, but the results went opposite. Australian team players came to the ground to do something big. After prevailing the toss, the Australian team picked to bowl first. The Indian team scored 240 runs and the Australian team beat these runs by 6 wickets. They grabbed the win 42 balls before. Travis Head was named the Player of the Match, scoring 137 match-winning runs.

Final match highlights, 19 Nov 2023

Playing XI

Rohit Sharma (C)David Warner
Shubman GillTravis Head
Virat KohliMitchell Marsh
Shreyas IyerSteven Smith
KL RahulMarnus Labuschagne
Ravindra JadejaGlenn Maxwell
Suryakumar YadavJosh Inglis
Mohammad ShamiMitchell Starc
Jasprit BumrahPat Cummins (C)
Kuldeep YadavAdam Zampa
Mohammad SirajJosh Hazlewood

India did not manage the momentum of wins in the last Final match. On the big day, they failed to give a target that proved hard for Australia. The best batting lineup also did not perform. One day before the match the Australian captain Pat Cummins said that he would be pleased to silence the blue crowd and they did it brilliantly. In front of 92,453 fans, India dropped its World Cup.

The Indian team went through many mistakes. They were an unbeaten team but if they managed their performance and their hard work maybe the result was different. But the Australian team did it with great batting from Travis Head and bowling too. While batting first, India’s top order tried to give their best. Rohit Sharma and Shubman Gill as openers started the innings but Shubman Gill could not take care of his wicket. The initial wicket dismissed in the 5th over. Instead of this, Rohit put the run score up with his hitting batting. Unluckily, he could not score 50. He needed only three runs, but Maxwell proved the heartbreak for him. 

Australia bowling against India in Final, ICC World Cup 2023

Virat Kohli also made 50 but with only 4 fours. No six hit by him. The bowling of the opposite side was not easy to handle for them. They tried hard to stay on the crease and balanced themselves. Virat Kohli was bowled by Pat Cummins. To take a wicket of one of the best players creates more courage in them. Mitchell Starc bowled 10 overs and took a total of three wickets.

KL Rahul scored 66 runs but he used 107 balls to reach this figure. Other players could not score. The outcome of this performance was that they gave only 240 runs target. This was not so hard and not much easy but the Indian team also did not save this.

Australia vs India Final Match, World Cup 2023

A match-winning 137 runs by Travis Head proved a golden chance for the Australian team and they became the champions of 2023. This was the fight against Australia. Marnus Labuschagne won over the 6th wicket, a great achievement for the team with 42 balls to spare. The bowling of the Indians failed badly. Even the bowlers did not take wickets. So, the Australian team had an outstanding win and became the only team who win the most World Cups. This was the sixth time they lifted the trophy.

Scorecard of Both Teams

India Batting

Rohit Sharma47314443151.61
Shubman Gill47210057.14
Virat Kohli5463994085.71
Shreyas Iyer43310133.33
KL Rahul661071331061.68
Ravindra Jadeja922330040.90
Suryakumar Yadav1828571064.28
Mohammad Shami61091060.00
Jasprit Bumrah1350033.33
Kuldeep Yadav1018280055.55
Mohammad Siraj981310112.50
Total24050 Ov

Australia Batting

Mitchell Starc1005535.5030
Josh Hazlewood1006026.0010
Glenn Maxwell603515.8300
Pat Cummins1003423.4020
Adam Zampa1004414.4010
Mitchell Marsh20502.5000
Travis Head20402.0000

Australia Batting

David Warner73610233.33
Travis Head137120166154114.16
Mitchell Marsh15151511100.00
Steven Smith49111044.44
Marnus Labuschagne581101334052.72
Glenn Maxwell21100200.00
Total241/443 Ov

India Bowling

Jasprit Bumrah924324.7700
Mohammad Shami714716.7130
Ravindra Jadeja1004304.3010
Kuldeep Yadav1005605.6000
Mohammad Siraj704516.4200

Uswa, a cricket admirer, provides keen and perceptive information. In the same way, she writes after proper and deep research and gives clear details.

Leave a Comment