Who Won? India Vs Sri Lanka | 33rd Match of World Cup 2023 – 02 Nov Match Performance, Scores Updates

Uswa Toheed

Who Won India Vs Sri Lanka 33rd Match of World Cup 2023 – 02 Nov Match Performance, Scores Updates

The 33rd India vs Sri Lanka match of the ICC World Cup 2023 was played at Wankhede Stadium, Mumbai, India on November 02, 2023.

Most matches of this tournament do not go in the favor of the toss-winning team. In the same way, the Sri Lankan team won the toss and chose to field first but in front of a powerful team they did not stay for a long time. India is the only team that has won all the matches to date. While Playing first India scored 357 runs on the loss of 8 wickets. In the 2nd innings, the Sri Lankan team could score only 55 runs which was the the worst defeat of this tournament. The Sri Lankan batters badly failed to score runs. Muhammad Shami did great bowling throughout the tournament and was selected the Player of the Match.

Playing XI

IndiaSri Lanka
Rohit SharmaPathum Nissanka
Shubman GillDimuth Karunaratne
Virat KohliKusal Mendis (C)
Shreyas IyerSadeera Samarawickrama
KL RahulCharith Asalanka
Suryakumar YadavAngelo Mathews
Ravindra JadejaDushan Hemantha
Mohammad ShamiDushmantha Chameera
Jasprit BumrahMaheesh Theekshana
Kuldeep YadavKasun Rajitha
Mohammad SirajDilshan Madushanka

India played excellently in the 1st inning. They grabbed the fourth biggest win in this format. Moreover, Mohammad Shami, Mohammad Siraj, and Jasprit Bumrah’s great bowling went back to the whole Sri Lankan team at just 55. They just played 19.4 overs. Shubman Gill, Virat Kohli, and Shreyas Iyer completed their fifties. The Sri Lankan top five wickets dropped at just 2 runs. Moreover, the five bowlers did not even score a single run. The Sri Lankan team scored the lowest runs in their ODI history. 

Rohit Sharma did not succeed in giving more runs. He played just 2 balls and 4 runs. In his first ball, he made a boundary and in 2nd he bowled. After that, Virat and Shubman made a brilliant partnership between them. They made boundaries and hit sixes. Shubman was close to his century but unfortunately was out on 92 runs. It was his bad luck that he did not steal the opportunity of making a hundred. Madushanka greatly broke the partnership of both of them. After falling the Shubman Gill wicket, Virat also went back to the pavilion on 88.

Virat also wanted to complete his 49th century on this ground because it was where Sachin Tendulkar the great former player of the Indian team completed his 49 centuries and became the top batsman. But Madushanka’s ball proved unlucky for him. Shreyas also included 82 runs in the win. Madushanka also did great bowling and took five wickets, four of top-order batsmen. KL Rahul made 21 runs and Ravindra Jadeja made 35 runs. They collectively gave a big target to the Sri Lankan team.

Virat Kohli batting against Sri Lanka

Except for Madushanka and Dushmantha, no bowler took a wicket. In the 2nd inning, the Sri Lankan team showed their bad performance. Only two players scored 12 runs. In addition, Pathum, Dimuth, Sadeera, Dushan, and Dushmantha scored no runs. Kusal Mendis and Charith Asalanka made just a single run. Additionally, Kasun Rajitha scored 14 runs. Lastly, all-time was out not playing a complete 20 overs and added just 55 runs. It was one of the bad losses for the Sri Lankan team. On the other hand, the Indian team recorded one of the biggest wins of 302 runs in ODI history.

Mohammad Shami great bowling

Mohammad Shami is the highest wicket-taker of this format. In this match, he also showed his outstanding bowling and grabbed 5-wickets. 

Scorecard of Both Teams

India Batting

Rohit Sharma (C)42210200.00
Shubman Gill9292136112100.00
Virat Kohli889413911093.61
Shreyas Iyer82568436146.42
KL Rahul21193420110.52
Suryakumar Yadav1291320133.33
Ravindra Jadeja35244111145.83
Mohammad Shami24110050.00
Jasprit Bumrah11100100.00
Total357/850 Ov

Sri Lanka Bowling

Dilshan Madushanka1008058.0060
Dushmantha Chameera1027117.1000
Kasun Rajitha906507.2210
Angelo Mathews301103.6600
Maheesh Theekshana1006706.7010
Dushan Hemantha805206.5001

Sri Lanka Batting

Pathum Nissanka012000.00
Dimuth Karunaratne0110000.00
Kusal Mendis (C)110210010.00
Sadeera Samarawickrama044000.00
Charith Asalanka12442004.16
Angelo Mathews1225551048.00
Dushan Hemantha011000.00
Dushmantha Chameera0610000.00
Maheesh Theekshana1223372052.17
Kasun Rajitha1417202082.35
Total5519.4 Ov

India Bowling

Jasprit Bumrah51811.6030
Mohammad Siraj721632.2810
Mohammad Shami511853.6000
Kuldeep Yadav20301.5000
Ravindra Jadeja0.40416.0000

Uswa, a cricket admirer, provides keen and perceptive information. In the same way, she writes after proper and deep research and gives clear details.

Leave a Comment