Who Won? Netherlands Vs Sri Lanka | 19th Match of World Cup 2023 – 21 Oct Match Performance, Scores Updates

Yasoob Ul Haq

NED Vs SL Match 19

The Netherlands Vs Sri Lanka played against each other in a cricket match at the Bharat Ratna Shri Atal Bihari Vajpayee Ekana Cricket Stadium in Lucknow on Saturday, as part of the ICC ODI World Cup 2023.


Team NetherlandsTeam Sri Lanka
Scott Edwards (wk/c)Kusal Mendis (wk/c)
Sybrand EngelbrechtDilshan Madushanka
Bas de LeedeLahiru Kumara
Vikramjit SinghChamika Karunaratne
Max O’DowdSadeera Samarawickrama
Colin AckermannCharith Asalanka
Aryan Dutt Dhananjaya de Silva
Teja NidamanuruDunith Wellalage
Logan van BeekMaheesh Theekshana
Roelof vanPathum Nissanka
Paul van MeekerenKusal Perera

A score of 91 not out from Sadeera Samarawickrama helped Sri Lanka win against the Netherlands. They had a tough time chasing the target but eventually succeeded and earned points. However, Sri Lanka played against Afghanistan, the Netherlands, Bangladesh, and Britain in four games. Sri Lanka’s net run rate was better than Afghanistan’s, so they moved up in the rankings. So, Sri Lanka is no longer at the bottom of the table.

SL Batsman

The goal was to score 263 runs, and the strategy was based on important partnerships. The first partnership was between Kusal Mendis and Pathum Nissanka, who quickly scored 34 runs. This helped to recover from the early loss of Kusal Perera. Then, there were bigger partnerships of 52, 77, and 76 runs. Samarawickrama played a crucial role throughout the game.

On a surface that promoted spinners, Aryan Dutt was the best among the Dutch bowlers. Showing his bowling skills he surprisingly took 3 wickets for just 44 runs. On the other hand, Kasun Rajitha and Dilshan Madushanka caused severe damage to Si Lanka. They both took four wickets individually and got early success.

The Dutch team scored huge runs due to the good partnership between Sybrand and Logan. This helped their team to recover from a big loss caused by Sri Lanka’s fast bowlers.


Certainly, the junior players in the Netherlands were expected to defend and they tried hard. This match had more significance than the one against South Africa. They won without any help from their captain, who got out in the early overs.

During this situation, Sri Lanka felt afraid because the opposite team players were back in control. Engelbrecht and Beek teamed together and picked the score 91 for 6 to 221 for 7.

Engelbrecht fell while hitting a risky shot against a yorker by Dilshan. However, Beek stood on the pitch for a while to help his team reach a total of 262.

The fourth over caused trouble when Rajitha caught Vikramjit Singh by hitting his leg by swinging the ball. Rajitha bowled his first ball to the left-handed batsman, and the wicket was a fair reward for their troubling lines and lengths which they had not done well in the beginning overs.

Despite the bad start, Max O’Dowd and Colin Ackermann were starting to do well in the game. They had a partnership of 41 runs before Rajitha took O’Dowd’s wicket for the second time. O’Dowd made a mistake by dragging a wide ball onto his stumps. In simpler words, two overs later, Rajitha got his third wicket when Ackermann missed his shot.

SL Won

Suddenly, the Dutch were in a difficult situation, as the scoring decreased to a very small amount. Kusal Mendis decided to keep Rajitha in the game for seven more overs and wait until the 16th over to bring in Theekshana.


Netherlands Batting

Vikramjit Singh 413171030.76
Max O’Dowd 1627501159.25
Colin Ackermann 2931425093.54
Bas de Leede 621330028.57
Teja Nidamanuru 916320056.25
Scott Edwards (c)16162200100.00
Sybrand Engelbrecht 70821004185.36
Logan van Beek 59751081178.66
Roelof van der Merwe 771200100.00
Aryan Dutt 961410150.00
Paul van Meekeren 4560080.00

Sri Lanka Bowling

Dilshan Madushanka9.414945.06334031
Kasun Rajitha905045.55325060
Chamika Karunaratne915806.44251260
Maheesh Theekshana1004414.40280020
Dushan Hemantha804205.25233100
Dhananjaya de Silva401303.25160030

Sri Lanka Batting

Pathum Nissanka 54526990103.84
Kusal Perera 58171062.50
Kusal Mendis (c)1117222064.70
Sadeera Samarawickrama 911071687085.04
Charith Asalanka 4466702166.66
Dhananjaya de Silva 3037571281.08
Dushan Hemantha 43710133.33

Netherlands Bowling

Aryan Dutt1004434.40383120
Logan van Beek1005705.70366200
Paul van Meekeren813914.87294020
Bas de Leede302909.6674020
Roelof van der Merwe904204.66253010
Colin Ackermann8.203914.68253000

I'm Yasoob-Ul-Haq a UK Safety Certified Chemical Engineer and a highly skilled Content Writer having two years of writing experience on different types of interesting and competent niches. I prefer target oriented work to meet timelines.

Leave a Comment