Who Won? New Zealand Vs Bangladesh | 11th Match of World Cup 2023 – 13 Oct Match Performance, Scores Update 

Yasoob Ul Haq

New Zealand Vs Bangladesh Match 11

The thrilling New Zealand vs Bangladesh match was played on 13th October at M.A. Chidambaram Cricket Stadium, Chennai. New Zealand got a tremendous win by 8 wickets and 43 balls.

Let’s have a look at the players who played in this match;


Team New ZealandTeam Bangladesh
Kane Williamson(C)Litton Das (WK)
Tom Latham (WK)Najmul Hossain Shanto
Finn AllenTamim Iqbal
Devon ConwayMushfiqur Rahim
Henry NichollsShakib Al Hasan
Michael BracewellAfif Hossain
Mitchell SantnerMehidy Hasan Miraz
Lockie FergusonTaskin Ahmed
Trent BoultMustafizur Rahman
Tim Southee.Shoriful Islam
Daryl MitchelNasum Ahmed

Kane Williamson, the famous cricket player, showed his skills once again by scoring 78 runs against Bangladesh. He led New Zealand to almost winning by eight wickets. But he couldn’t finish the chase because he had to leave the field injured during the 39th over. Daryl Mitchell helped the New Zealand team win the World Cup by saving 43 balls and completing their strong start.

Daryl Mitchell plays a reverse sweep during his half-century

Williamson couldn’t play cricket for seven months because he hurt his right knee during the previous season’s IPL. People didn’t think he could make a comeback in the World Cup at that time. When he became the captain of the New Zealand team, people expected him to miss the beginning of the competition. However, Williamson didn’t come back earlier than expected. He seemed to have a slight decrease in performance while playing against Bangladesh.

Williamson hit ten shots that earned him four runs each, and one shot that earned him six runs. He made a score of 78 runs in 108 balls. Unfortunately, he had to leave the game due to muscle spasms. Williamson made a significant contribution to two partnerships. First, he and Devon Conway made a score of 82 runs after New Zealand lost their first wicket. With Mitchell, he scored 108 runs for the third wicket. New Zealand had an easy time chasing and won by a large margin.

At the beginning of New Zealand’s attempt to score 246 runs, Bangladesh made their fans hopeful when Mustafizur Rahman removed the successful Rachin Ravindra, who was opening for the first time in ODIs, in the third over. Mustafizur quickly got another opportunity when Conway, who was batting at 4, hit the ball away. However, Mehidy Hasan Miraz, who was standing at the point, dropped the chance. It was a difficult situation, but if that person stayed, it could have motivated Bangladesh.

Conway hit Shoriful Islam for two fours shortly. In the 10th over, Williamson had his turn on Shoriful, cracking him over point. Then, in the 13th over, Taskin hit two fours before dropping Williamson at short midwicket with the New Zealand skipper on 27. Shakib broke the second-wicket partnership by trapping Conway lbw for 45 off 59 balls. Conway’s attempted reverse sweep failed after he missed the shot. The Conway wicket, on the other hand, did little to aid Bangladesh’s case, as the next hitter, Mitchell, quickly ramped up the pace.

He got his first six off Shakib before Williamson hoisted his opposite number. For the following 10 overs, Williamson continued to hit Shakib and Mehidy for four more boundaries before Mitchell returned to action with a stinging pull-off Taskin, followed by two straight sixes off Shakib and Taskin.

Even after Williamson ended his knock in the 39th over, Mitchell continued to attack the Bangladesh bowling till the chase was finished in the 43rd over. Mitchell’s undefeated 67-balls 89 included six fours and four sixes.

In the 12th over, Mehidy drew Lockie Ferguson into legs for 30, resulting in a third easy dismissal. In his 46-ball stint, he hit three excellent cover drives, but Bangladesh again put him in the batting position, which was challenging at first.

When Najmul Hossain Shanto, who was in fine form, was blasted to midwicket by Glenn Philips, New Zealand reduced Bangladesh to 56 for 4 in the next over. Conway was hit by a falling catch, but Bangladesh recovered with the help of their most seasoned pair.

Mahmudullah at the end of Bangladesh's innings

In about equal time, Shakib and Mushfiqur contributed 96 runs by pressing back against the New Zealand side. Mushfiqur didn’t waste any time in hitting Philips for a six. Shakib pulled Henry before slamming Mitchell Santner for a straight four after two more fours. As Bangladesh appeared to be on the way to a comeback, Mushfiqur blasted Ferguson for his second six, over the third man.

But shortly after Mushfiqur scored fifty, Shakib developed a muscle cramp. The Bangladesh skipper removed his helmet as he hit Ravindra for a straight four and a six over midwicket after receiving some little medical care. He added another six off Ferguson, but the ball, when attempting to play the pacer once again, he was out.

Soon after, Mushfiqur returned, but the Henry delivery bowled him. Given that he came in intending to renew Bangladesh’s innings, it was still a heroic performance.

Mahmudullah was batting at No. 8 for the first time in 13 years and was left to ensure a respectable finish. Since Tohwid Hridoy, who was now batting out of position at No. 7, was unable to continue. While he was undefeated at 41 and helped Bangladesh bat out the entire 50 overs, the team total was still below average.


Bangladesh Batting

Litton Das 011000.00
Tanzid Hasan 1617374094.11
Mehidy Hasan Miraz 3046524065.21
Najmul Hossain Shanto 78201087.50
Shakib Al Hasan (c)4051753278.43
Mushfiqur Rahim6675936288.00
Towhid Hridoy 1325300052.00
Mahmudullah 4149582283.67
Taskin Ahmed 1719250289.47
Mustafizur Rahman 410140040.00
Shoriful Islam 2390066.66

New Zealand Bowling

Trent Boult1004524.50375120
Matt Henry1005825.80276001
Lockie Ferguson1004934.90444322
Mitchell Santner1013113.10362000
Glenn Phillips201316.5081101
Rachin Ravindra703705.28222200
Daryl Mitchell1011011.0010100

New Zealand Batting

Devon Conway 4559913076.27
Rachin Ravindra 913122069.23
Kane Williamson (c)781071588172.89
Daryl Mitchell 896710364132.83
Glenn Phillips 16112211145.45

Bangladesh Bowling

Mustafizur Rahman803614.50263030
Shoriful Islam7.514305.48305130
Taskin Ahmed805607.00206130
Shakib Al Hasan1005415.40302300
Mehidy Hasan Miraz905806.44174110

I'm Yasoob-Ul-Haq a UK Safety Certified Chemical Engineer and a highly skilled Content Writer having two years of writing experience on different types of interesting and competent niches. I prefer target oriented work to meet timelines.

Leave a Comment