Who Won? New Zealand Vs Sri Lanka | 41st Match of World Cup 2023 – 09 Nov Match Performance, Scores Updates

Uswa Toheed

Who Won New Zealand Vs Sri Lanka 41st Match of World Cup 2023 – 09 Nov Match Performance, Scores Updates

A sensational match was played between New Zealand and Sri Lanka at the Indian M. Chinnaswamy Stadium, Bengaluru on November 09, 2023. The ICC World Cup 2023 matches have come to a close. This was the 41st match of the tournament.

New Zealand almost entered the semi-final with this win. After winning the toss, the New Zealand team decided to field first. Amazing bowling was done by New Zealand bowlers. They did not let them score more runs. The Sri Lankan team faced many troubles during the batting. They just scored 171 runs and all teams were out in 46.4 overs. The New Zealand team fulfilled the challenge in just 23.2 overs for 5 wickets. Trent Boult dismissed the three players of the opposite team. He was announced the Player of the Match with the bowling figure of 3/37

NZ vs SL 41st match

Playing XI

New ZealandSri Lanka
Devon ConwayPathum Nissanka
Rachin RavindraKusal Perera
Kane Williamson (C)Kusal Mendis (C)
Daryl MitchellSadeera Samarawickrama
Mark ChapmanCharith Asalanka
Glenn PhillipsAngelo Mathews
Tom LathamDhananjaya de Silva
Mitchell SantnerChamika Karunaratne
Lockie FergusonMaheesh Theekshana
Tim SoutheeDushmantha Chameera
Trent BoultDilshan Madushanka

The New Zealand team grabbed the five wickets win. This win led them to 10 points and almost booked their semi-final against India. The Pakistan team needed 287 runs to win over England and also Afghanistan had an outstanding performance with a win of 438 runs. The only chance for Pakistan to win was if they batted first otherwise they were not qualifying for the World Cup semi-final. The Sri Lankan team is also out of the Champion Trophy 2025 race. An aesthetical win and an outstanding performance in both respect of ball and bat.

Kusal Perera scored 51 runs in 28 balls. He contributed this fastest half-century with 9 boundaries and 2 sixes. Maheesh Theekshana added 38 runs but he used the most balls to score these runs. In the same way, they played the slowest game of 171 runs. They used 46.4 overs to make these. 

New Zealand bowling against Sri Lanka

Trent Boult remained top in respect of his best bowling. Moreover, Lockie also took 2 wickets of Kusal Perera and Chamika. Mitchell Santner did outstanding bowling and gave 22 runs in 10 overs with 2 wickets. Rachin Ravindra bowled 7.4 overs and fell two wickets by giving 21 runs. This bowling average got them a win before 160 balls. Falling wicket after wicket made it hard to manage the score and build a partnership. They lost their 8th wicket in the 24th over.

New Zealand started to play an easy target. But the Sri Lankan team also made problems for the opposite team. The Start was great as Devon Conway and Rachin Ravindra gave a start of 86 runs. Conway was close to his half-century but unluckily was out on the ball from Chameera. After just seven balls the 2nd wicket fell and Rachin Ravindra was also unable to score 50 runs. They both made a good partnership; the ball of Chameera proved to be unlucky for them.

New Zealand batting against Sri Lanka

After that, Kane Williamson and Daryl Mitchell also tried to build a partnership among them. But Kane was bowled by Mathews. Mark Chapman was out while scoring a single run. They chased the target in 23.2 overs with the loss of 5 wickets. If Pakistan does not win the match then New Zealand faces India in the semi-final at Wankhede Stadium, Mumbai.

Scorecard of Both Teams

Sri Lanka Batting

Pathum Nissanka2890025.00
Kusal Perera51284692182.14
Kusal Mendis (C)67111085.71
Sadeera Samarawickrama1220050.00
Charith Asalanka881610100.00
Angeli Mathews1627332059.25
Dhananjaya de Silva1924362179.16
Chamika Karunaratne617281035.29
Maheesh Theekshana389110931041.75
Dushmantha Chameera12032005.00
Dilshan Madushanka1948562039.58
Total17146.4 Ov

New Zealand Bowling

Trent Boult1033733.7030
Tim Southee805216.5000
Lockie Ferguson1023523.5000
Mitchell Santner1022222.2000
Rachin Ravindra7.402122.7300
Glenn Phillips10303.0000

New Zealand Batting

Devon Conway45425490107.14
Rachin Ravindra42346133123.52
Kane Williamson (C)1415262093.33
Daryl Mitchell43314552138.70
Mark Chapman761310116.66
Glenn Phillips17101530170.00
Tom Latham22300100.00
Total172/523.2 Ov

Sri Lanka Bowling

Dilshan Madushanka6.205809.1510
Maheesh Theekshana704316.1400
Dhananjaya de Silva2022011.0000
Dushmantha Chameera412015.0000
Angelo Mathews402927.2510

Uswa, a cricket admirer, provides keen and perceptive information. In the same way, she writes after proper and deep research and gives clear details.

Leave a Comment