Who Won? Pakistan Vs Bangladesh | 31st Match of World Cup 2023 – 31 Oct Match Performance, Scores Updates

Uswa Toheed

Who Won Pakistan Vs Bangladesh 31st Match of World Cup 2023 – 31 Oct Match Performance, Scores Updates

A spirited match was held between Pakistan and Bangladesh at Eden Gardens Stadium, Kolkata, India on October 31, 2023. It was the 31st match out of 48 of the ICC World Cup 2023. The Bangladeshi team chose to bat first by winning the toss against Pakistan. They gave them a target of 204 runs to chase. The Pakistani team completed the total runs before 105 balls. They won the match by seven wickets. Fakhar was announced the Player of the Match while playing 81 runs.

Fakhar named Player of the Match, 31st match World Cup 2023

Playing XI

Abdullah ShafiqueTanzid Hasan
Fakhar ZamanLitton Das
Babar Azam (C)Najmul Hossain Shanto
Mohammad RizwanMushfiqur Rahim
Iftikhar AhmedMahmudullah
Saud ShakeelShakib Al Hasan (C)
Agha SalmanTowhid Hridoy
Shaheen Shah AfridiMehidy Hasan Miraz
Usama MirTaskin Ahmed
Mohammad WasimMustafizur Rahman
Haris RaufShoriful Islam

Fakhar dropped from the team after a bad performance as an opener against the Netherlands. In this match, he rejoined the team in the place of Imam-ul-Haq. He showed his previous strength in which manner he is known. He made a match-winning 81 runs. Abdullah Shafique and Fakhar Zaman made a partnership and took the runs to 128 before falling for the first wicket. They wanted to chase the target before 30 overs. In the starting, they held slow speed but after 4 overs they proceeded the game by hitting sixes and fours.

Fakhar Zaman played long shots and hit seven sixes. After the sensational performance from Fakar, they kept hope alive for the semi-final qualification. Pakistan lost its first wicket in the 22nd over. It was a clear lbw by Mehidy Hasan. Babar Azam came to join the Fakhar. But he did not show his out-class performance in this match too. He managed only 9 runs in 16 balls and was trapped off by the ball of Mehidy Hasan. Mehidy got two successful wickets for Bangladesh.

Shaheen also contributed to this win. His commendable bowling restricts them to scoring low runs. Moreover, he took the wicket in his first over. He also took three wickets and gave 23 runs. Additionally, he became the fastest bowler to get 100 ODI wickets. In his fifth bowl, he grabbed the wicket of Tanzid Hasan and completed his 100 wickets record.

In the first innings, Litton Das scored 45 runs off 64 balls. Mahmudullah also added 56 runs. His half-century led the runs to 130. In the half-way, they could score 109 runs on the loss of four wickets. Shakib Al Hasan could not score a half-century and went back to the crease after scoring just 43 runs. Haris Rauf dismissed two players. Mohammad Wasim also took three wickets.

Pakistan Bowling against Bangladesh

Further, Pakistan completed his 50 runs in 55 balls of which 2 balls were extra. Abdullah Shafique made his half-century in 56 balls and Fakhar in 51 balls. The first wicket fell in 107 balls but a decision was challenged by Pakistan and Abdullah Safique struck down.  Lastly, Rizwan and Iftikhar Ahmad finished the second innings.

No bowler from the Bangladeshi team took a wicket except Mehidy Hasan. He single-handedly took three wickets. Pakistan chased the target in 32.3 overs. Secondly, they lost just three wickets.  

Bangladesh Bowling against Pakistan, 31st match 2023

Along with that, they got the win after consecutive four losses. But this win was like a classic performance. Moreover, Fakhar showed his brilliant and commendable performance after a long time. Because of a remarkable performance from the Pakistani team, he became the Player of the Match.

Scorecard of Both teams

Bangladesh Batting

Tanzid Hasan057000.00
Litton Das45641006070.31
Najmul Hossain Shanto 43810133.33
Mushfiqur Rahim58181062.50
Shakib Al Hasan (C)4364824067.18
Towhid Hridoy73901233.33
Mehidy Hasan Miraz2530501183.33
Taskin Ahmed613200046.15
Mustafizur Rahman37110042.85
Shoriful Islam1480025.00
Total20445.1 Ov

Pakistan Bowling

Shaheen Shah Afridi912332.5520
Iftikhar Ahmed1004414.4000
Haris Rauf803624.5020
Mohammad Wasim8.113133.7900
Usama Mir1006616.6010

Pakistan Batting

Abdullah Shafique6869949298.55
Fakhar Zaman817412637109.45
Babar Azam (C)916201056.25
Mohammad Rizwan26212740123.80
Iftikhar Ahmed17151720113.33
Total205/332.3 Ov

Bangladesh Bowling

Taskin Ahmed613606.0000
Shoriful Islam412506.2510
Mehidy Hasan Miraz906036.6600
Mustafizur Rahman704706.7110
Shakib Al Hasan5.303005.4500
Najmul Hossain Shanto10505.0000

Uswa, a cricket admirer, provides keen and perceptive information. In the same way, she writes after proper and deep research and gives clear details.

Leave a Comment